5 star predictions ~ backlist titles from my 2021 tbr

Hello! Today we are talking about the backlist titles that I think I’m going to rate 5 stars this year. If you don’t know, backlist titles are anything that was published the previous year and beyond so 2019, 2018, 2017, etc.

There are a lot of older books on my TBR that I really want to prioritize in 2021 and below are the ones I’m absolutely going to be reading in the coming months. Let’s get into it!


The Secret History by Donna Tartt ~ Is it cheating if I’ve already started the book and I know I’m going to love it? Probably but ignore that tidbit of information. Like I said, I’ve discovered I have a love for dark academia. Look out for my January wrap-up because I’m definitely going to have a lot to say about this particular book!

Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo ~ I learned last year that I love weird books and dark academia. There’s been many mixed reviews from people I trust but this feels like the perfect book for me.

Tiny Pretty Things by Sona Charaipotra & Dhonielle Clayton ~ This is a Netflix series now and I’ve always wanted to read it but it’s a bit outside my comfort zone. I know very little about the dance world and I know this deals with some difficult subject matter such as eating disorders and other mental illness which I’m not entirely comfortable reading due to my own past experiences. However, I feel like I’m in a better place where I can handle these topics and I’m actually really excited to learn why this book is so popular and maybe watch the series afterwards.

Twice In A Blue Moon by Christina Lauren ~ This is one of the only Christina Lauren books I haven’t read and that’s because I heard this was not their usual light, sexy sort of read. However, I loved The Honey Don’t List which is similar in nature to this book so I think it’s going to become one of my favorites! I’ve been trying to borrow it from my library but it’s always unavailable so hopefully I can get my hands on it soon. I think it’s about two exes falling back in love with each other, I don’t really know. I don’t want to know, I just think I’m going to love it!

The Flatshare by Beth O’Leary ~ Another book I saw a lot of negative reviews for that turned my interest levels way down. This is about people who share an apartment, one resides there at night and one resides there during the day, and the catch is that they’ve never met each other. It sounds really good so I hope I get to read this soon!


That’s it for this post! Comment below which of these you’ve read and if any of these ended up being your favorites! I would love to know and it may encourage me to read one of these sooner! Once I wind up finishing all these books, I hope to do a wrap-up and tell y’all if they really did end up being 5 star reads. Thank you so much for reading! Until next time! BYE!

Leave a comment